19 Nov 2013

Chelsea FC midfielder scooped two awards at the maiden edition of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, which took place at the Pearl Hall of Transcorp Metropolitan Hotel, Calabar on Saturday 16th November, 2013. The ex-PSG player won Best Midfielder and King of Pitch (Player of the Year), prominent female footballer, Perpetua Nkwocha, also clinched the Queen of Pitch award.

No member of Super Eagles team (coach and players) were present at the occasion, despite being lodged in the same hotel where the event took place. Shina Phillip, co-ordinator of the awards couldn't help but voice out his disappointment, "Our players need to be schooled about how to be socially responsible. I don't hold anything against them because I want to adduce their attitude to the fact that they needed rest ahead of their trip to London for the engagement against Italy. But even at that, a five minute appearance would have been enough for them."

Governor Liyel Imoke however commended the team for their groundbreaking feats. "It is a long time that our country, our people have had so much to celebrate within a short span of time. We have just won the FIFA U-17 World Cup trophy only eight days after lifting the FIFA U-17 World Cup to set a global record. In fact, the successes have piled up so high that we are almost forgetting that it is in this same year that we won the Africa Cup of Nations."


(1) Stephen Keshi (Coach of the Year)
(2) Vincent Enyeama (Goal keeper of the Year)
(3) Emmanuel Emenike (Striker of the Year)
(4) Jelili Ogunmuyiwa (Referee of the Year)
(5) Godfrey Oboabona (Defender of the Year)
(6) John Shittu (Players' Agent of the Year)
(7) Kano Pillars (Club of the Year)
(8) Ade Ojeikere (Journalist of the Year – Print)
(9) Bimbo Adeola (Journalist of the Year – Radio)
(10) Toyin Ibitoye (Journalist of the Year – TV)
(11) Lagos State (Best Grassroots Development Programme).
(12) Felix Anyansi (Manager of the Year- Eyimba Club)
(13) Football-friendly Governor of the Year (Governor Liyel Imoke)
(14) Etubom Paul Bassey (CAF General Coordinator- Special Recognition award)
(15) Jay Jay Okocha ( NFF Technical and Development Committee member- Special Recognition award)


1 comment: